Digital.nz All Case Trackers →

Sovereign compute · FULL DEEP TRACKER

CDC Data Centres New Zealand

A living evidence file tracking CDC’s delivered Auckland capacity, regional pipeline, capital backing, AI readiness, operating footprint and proposed 250MW Stratford expansion.

OPERATING + EXPANDING Auckland · Taranaki concept CONTINUOUSLY MONITORED Updated 30 August 2026
NAMED OPERATING CAPACITY 98 MW
AUCKLAND REGION CLAIM 220 MW+
STRATFORD CONCEPT 250 MW IT
INFRATIL OWNERSHIP 49.72%

WHY IT MATTERS

Strategic significance

CDC is the clearest operating benchmark against which proposed New Zealand hyperscale projects can be tested. Its delivered capacity, customer demand, energy performance and campus expansion reveal whether New Zealand can convert infrastructure advantages into a durable AI and cloud economy.

CURRENT ASSESSMENT

An operating platform with a larger development story.

CDC has three specifically named operating facilities in Auckland: Silverdale Campus One at 22MW, Hobsonville Campus One at 22MW and Hobsonville Campus Two at 54MW. That totals 98MW of named operating capacity. CDC’s separate 220MW-plus Auckland regional figure therefore includes capacity beyond those named operating facilities and should be treated as a regional portfolio or pipeline measure, not current delivered load.

CDC also reports that its New Zealand operation renewed Toitū Enviromark Diamond certification for a fourth consecutive year in August 2026. This strengthens the evidence for an embedded environmental-management system, but it does not replace facility-level disclosure of electricity demand, hour-by-hour emissions, utilisation or the future Stratford project’s impacts.

The central intelligence question is no longer whether CDC can operate hyperscale infrastructure in New Zealand. It is how quickly the gap between 98MW of named operating facilities, the 220MW-plus Auckland regional position and the proposed 250MW Stratford project converts into commissioned and contracted compute capacity.

EVIDENCE GATES

What is confirmed—and what remains open.

01 · OPERATING

Three named Auckland facilities

CDC publicly identifies Silverdale One at 22MW, Hobsonville One at 22MW and Hobsonville Two at 54MW.

02 · RECONCILED

98MW named versus 220MW-plus region

The larger regional number cannot be presented as current operating capacity without further facility-level disclosure.

03 · AI READY

NVIDIA certification achieved

CDC is the first hyperscale provider with DGX-Ready certification in New Zealand, but certified Australasian capacity is not disclosed by country.

04 · CAPITAL BACKED

Infratil owns 49.72%

Infratil reports substantial CDC group operating and construction capacity; those group figures must not be mistaken for New Zealand-only capacity.

05 · SUSTAINABILITY

Renewable matching, water efficiency and Diamond certification

CDC reports FY26 electricity matched with renewable supply, WUE below 0.02 at portfolio level, near-zero ongoing cooling-water draw and renewed Toitū Enviromark Diamond certification across its New Zealand data centres for a fourth year.

06 · OPEN

Auckland contracted load undisclosed

No reviewed public source establishes facility-level utilisation, tenants, contracted MW or ramp dates for the entire 220MW-plus region.

07 · CONCEPT

Stratford 250MW IT project

Contact and CDC intend to seek consent, but both state that neither party has committed to construct the facility.

08 · OPEN

Stratford anchor tenants and finance

The project depends on anchor tenants, approvals and project finance, with design and customer engagement still underway.

CAPACITY RECONCILIATION

Do not treat unlike numbers as equivalent.

NAMED FACILITIES 98 MW

Operating capacity

22MW Silverdale + 22MW Hobsonville One + 54MW Hobsonville Two.

CDC REGIONAL POSITION 220 MW+

Auckland capacity

A broader regional figure that includes capacity not yet reconciled to the three named operating facilities.

CONTACT / CDC CONCEPT 250 MW

Stratford IT load

Approximately 350MW total peak load including ancillary systems, subject to final design and investment gates.

DELIVERY & OPERATING STACK

The layers behind the headline.

Silverdale Campus One 22MW operating CDC expects the campus to grow to more than 60MW in the period ahead.
Hobsonville Campus One 22MW operating Named operating facility connected through the Auckland electricity network.
Hobsonville Campus Two 54MW operating Second campus in the Hobsonville precinct; facility-level customer load is not disclosed.
AI infrastructure DGX-Ready Certification supports high-density AI workloads but does not evidence contracted New Zealand GPU demand.
Electricity Renewable matched CDC reports all FY26 electricity consumption matched with renewable electricity; physical marginal supply impacts remain a wider grid question.
Cooling water Closed loop CDC reports a one-time 190,000-litre fill across Silverdale and Hobsonville and continuous recirculation.
Stratford power 250MW IT / ~350MW total Proposed long-term supply supported by new generation, batteries and an existing connection; no construction commitment yet.
Stratford project Pre-consent Activities are limited to consenting, design, customer engagement and development planning.

VERIFIED TIMELINE

Key milestones and status changes

  • Nov 2022 CDC opens initial Silverdale and Hobsonville hyperscale facilities; Transpower later records their large-load connections.
  • 2024–25 NIWA places Cascade compute and Rapids archive across CDC’s Hobsonville and Silverdale sites for resilience.
  • 2025 CDC achieves NVIDIA DGX-Ready certification across Australia and New Zealand.
  • FY26 CDC reports 100% renewable-electricity matching and portfolio WUE below 0.02.
  • 10 Aug 2026 Contact and CDC announce exploration of a 250MW IT-load data centre at Stratford, Taranaki.
  • Aug 2026 CDC reports renewal of Toitū Enviromark Diamond certification across its New Zealand data centres for a fourth consecutive year.

STAKEHOLDER MAP

Who shapes the outcome

  • CDC Data Centres, founder and management
  • Infratil, holding 49.72% at the FY26 reporting date
  • Other CDC investment partners, including Australian sovereign capital
  • Vector and Transpower for Auckland network and transmission interfaces
  • Contact Energy for the Stratford concept
  • Government, research, education, cloud and critical-infrastructure customers
  • Auckland and Taranaki communities and consenting authorities

DEPENDENCIES

What must align

  • Reliable high-capacity electricity connections and new generation
  • Fibre diversity, domestic backhaul and international cable capacity
  • Sustained hyperscale, public-sector and AI customer commitments
  • Planning, construction and specialist operations workforce
  • Anchor tenants, approvals and project finance for Stratford
  • Clear facility-level disclosure to distinguish operating, construction and future capacity

RISKS & OPEN QUESTIONS

What is not yet resolved

  • The 220MW-plus Auckland regional figure is materially larger than 98MW of named operating facilities and is not fully reconciled publicly
  • Group-wide operating, construction and contracted capacity figures can be incorrectly attributed to New Zealand
  • Customer identities, contracted MW and utilisation are commercially confidential
  • Renewable matching does not by itself show marginal generation or hour-by-hour carbon intensity
  • Stratford is a concept project and may not proceed without tenants, consent and finance
  • Large new loads can affect grid investment, system flexibility and wholesale electricity outcomes

CORE EVIDENCE REGISTER

Primary and supporting sources