{
  "dataset": "New Zealand Data Centre & Cloud Infrastructure Tracker",
  "publisher": "Digital.nz Intelligence",
  "updated": "2026-08-24",
  "summary": {
    "tracked_platforms_and_projects": 8,
    "operating_or_partly_operating": 5,
    "in_development": 1,
    "consented_or_early_works": 1,
    "pre_consent_exploration": 1,
    "operating_hyperscale_public_cloud_regions": 2
  },
  "capacity_method": {
    "rule": "Capacity figures are never summed unless they use the same scope and status.",
    "it_capacity": "Power available to customer IT equipment; the most comparable facility-level measure when disclosed.",
    "campus_capacity": "Potential or planned power envelope for a whole campus; it may include future stages and non-IT load.",
    "portfolio_capacity": "Operator-stated capacity across multiple sites or a development programme; it is not necessarily operating capacity.",
    "undisclosed": "A cloud region or operating portfolio can be strategically material even when physical capacity is not published."
  },
  "records": [
    {
      "operator": "Datagrid New Zealand",
      "project": "Makarewa Data Centre Park",
      "region": "Southland",
      "facility_type": "Export-oriented compute campus",
      "status": "Consented / early works",
      "evidence_status": "operator-stated; consent confirmed in project evidence file",
      "capacity_mw": 280,
      "capacity_type": "planned campus capacity",
      "site_hectares": 49,
      "market_role": "Export-oriented AI and hyperscale compute",
      "caution": "Consented capacity is not operating capacity; staged energisation, customers, finance and connectivity remain delivery tests.",
      "source": "https://www.datagrid.nz/"
    },
    {
      "operator": "CDC Data Centres",
      "project": "Auckland campuses",
      "region": "Auckland",
      "facility_type": "Sovereign hyperscale campuses",
      "status": "Operating / expanding",
      "evidence_status": "operator-confirmed",
      "capacity_mw": 220,
      "capacity_type": "operator-stated Auckland regional capacity, 220+ MW",
      "operating_capacity_note": "CDC separately states 22 MW at Silverdale Campus One, 22 MW at Hobsonville Campus One and 54 MW at Hobsonville Campus Two.",
      "market_role": "Sovereign hyperscale and critical infrastructure",
      "source": "https://cdc.com/locations/auckland/"
    },
    {
      "operator": "Amazon Web Services",
      "project": "Asia Pacific (New Zealand) Region",
      "region": "Auckland",
      "facility_type": "Hyperscale public cloud region",
      "status": "Operating since September 2025",
      "evidence_status": "operator-confirmed launch",
      "availability_zones": 3,
      "capacity_mw": null,
      "capacity_type": "not publicly disclosed",
      "market_role": "Public cloud region and local data residency",
      "investment_claim_nzd": 7500000000,
      "investment_scope": "AWS-stated investment to establish and operate the New Zealand Region",
      "source": "https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/aws/now-open-aws-asia-pacific-new-zealand-region/"
    },
    {
      "operator": "Microsoft",
      "project": "New Zealand North",
      "region": "Auckland",
      "facility_type": "Hyperscale public cloud region",
      "status": "Operating since December 2024",
      "evidence_status": "operator-confirmed launch",
      "capacity_mw": null,
      "capacity_type": "not publicly disclosed",
      "market_role": "Azure hyperscale cloud and local data residency",
      "sustainability_note": "Microsoft states the region uses water-free cooling and is supported by a long-term renewable energy agreement.",
      "source": "https://news.microsoft.com/en-nz/2024/12/12/new-zealands-first-hyperscale-cloud-is-open-for-business/"
    },
    {
      "operator": "DCI Data Centers",
      "project": "AKL01 / AKL02 portfolio",
      "region": "Auckland",
      "facility_type": "Cloud and wholesale data centres",
      "status": "AKL01 operating / portfolio expansion",
      "evidence_status": "operator-confirmed AKL01 completion; portfolio capacity is operator target",
      "capacity_mw": 50,
      "capacity_type": "operator-stated two-site portfolio target, 50+ MW",
      "market_role": "Cloud and colocation infrastructure",
      "source": "https://dcidatacenters.com/news/akl01-completed/"
    },
    {
      "operator": "NEXTDC",
      "project": "AK1",
      "region": "Auckland",
      "facility_type": "Carrier-neutral colocation",
      "status": "In development",
      "evidence_status": "operator-confirmed development listing",
      "capacity_mw": 15,
      "capacity_type": "planned IT capacity",
      "technical_space_sqm": 3000,
      "market_role": "Carrier-neutral colocation and cloud connectivity",
      "source": "https://www.nextdc.com/data-centres/new-zealand-data-centres-colocation"
    },
    {
      "operator": "Datacom",
      "project": "New Zealand data centre portfolio",
      "region": "Auckland / Hamilton / Wellington / Christchurch",
      "facility_type": "Enterprise colocation and managed infrastructure",
      "status": "Operating / portfolio expansion",
      "evidence_status": "operator-confirmed locations",
      "facilities_listed": 5,
      "capacity_mw": null,
      "capacity_type": "multi-site capacity not consolidated on the portfolio page",
      "facility_capacity_examples": "Orbit up to 10 MW; Highbrook 8 MW; Kapua up to 14 MW; Abel 2 MW; Gloucester not stated in this tracker.",
      "market_role": "Enterprise colocation, sovereign infrastructure and managed services",
      "source": "https://datacom.com/nz/en/products/data-centres/locations"
    },
    {
      "operator": "Contact Energy / CDC Data Centres",
      "project": "Proposed Stratford data centre",
      "region": "Taranaki",
      "facility_type": "Potential energy-integrated hyperscale campus",
      "status": "Pre-consent exploration",
      "evidence_status": "listed-company announcement; explicitly uncommitted",
      "capacity_mw": 250,
      "capacity_type": "proposed IT / compute load; announcement states approximately 350 MW total peak load",
      "market_role": "Potential energy-integrated hyperscale campus",
      "caution": "Neither party has committed to construction. The project remains subject to anchor tenants, approvals and project finance.",
      "source": "https://beta.nzx.com/announcements/477523"
    }
  ],
  "due_diligence_tests": [
    "Confirm whether a quoted MW figure is live IT load, fitted capacity, utility connection, total campus demand or a future portfolio target.",
    "Verify land control, consent status, grid connection offer, staged energisation date and customer commitments separately.",
    "Test carrier diversity end-to-end, including ducts, exchanges, cable landings and cloud on-ramps.",
    "Assess water, cooling, heat rejection, seismic, flood and climate risks at the specific site.",
    "Distinguish renewable matching or certificates from additional firm generation available during system stress."
  ]
}
